D.Gray-man 159 – Moving with Fun at 2AM

D.Gray-man 159

This is like a filler for the manga after running out of ideas, or just a chapter that’s full of gags.

Let’s recheck what makes this chapter great and funny:

  • We get mini-Lavi and mini-Kanda. They’re the pretty boys, I suppose, together with Allen, so some people might go moe with the cuteness they are now. I mean, a pissed Kanda and an innocent Lavi? What more could you get!
  • Bookman has bunny ears. ‘Nuff said.
  • Lenalee, together with Bookman go “Nyan! Nyan!” Lenalee going nyan, oh, c’mon. You couldn’t ask for more, that’s the only girl we have.
  • This one isn’t really great-and-funny, but I do like the reference of Allen here. The art for Allen was a girl but was changed to a boy, so we can still see traces of him being a girl-like person; considering he is a pretty boy, it is no surprise there. Nevertheless, Allen doesn’t look changed that much, and I still admire him as he is now.

Those were some of the fun moments, but the opening of this chapter is honestly great. Making a typical seen where one is captured, alone, with peeks on the culprit, plus, a thunder-and-lightning effect. Not a big impact, but I found it great.

So, yeah, it has something to do with the entire arc we’re going to enter, but this isn’t really going to be great for me. Sure, I love D.Gray-man, I laugh at their jokes, but I don’t know anymore. It’s like I’m laughing at the jokes because it is D.Gray-man. I am not going to break down and love D.Gray-man as a slice, but I think this is one of the few things that flaws D.Gray-man, the jokes. If it were better, it could be as great as Naruto. Naruto, at times, are cheesy at drama, so I appreciate D.Gray-man for making it more realistic at times. (Excuse me for bringing up Naruto.)

However, we did undergo some of Allen’s share of emotions. My love for this show has grown better and better, especially at the confusion and hopefulness Allen’s having. It’s the best asset D.Gray-man could have: the mysteriousness with the seriousness of the show.

This entry was posted in D.Gray-man, Manga. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment