Kamisama Dolls – Quick First Impressions – 01

Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 01
Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 02 Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 03

OP: 「不完全燃焼」 (Fukanzen Nunshou) by Ishikawa Chiaki – Not my type of song. It’s new to me in a lot of ways. All I can say is that it’s tolerable and great, but I think they can do better than that, even with the same tune. Also, the animation is outstanding! I’ve seen that kind of style in a few other shows, but it’s quite “new” to see it again.

Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 04 Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 05
Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 06 Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 07

Episode 1 –「神は来たりて」(Kami wa Kitarite)
“God Arrives”

“The memories in your heart, a dark whirlpool of hatred and obsession – I’ll devour all of it!”

Those lines were somehow great to start the episode, followed by the scene of pure destruction in the mountains – just great! I just like how it made things go so smoothly. The relation of that very short scene really has a tremendous relation to the entire show. The animation was great, too. I thought that it was of movie quality. Everything just went there and go, really impressive enough. I got more and more impressed at how they would really bother making the people appear nonchalant with all the animation despite just being bystanders.

However, I was completely disappointed with the animation when it was focused on the character to character. It wasn’t as smooth as I expected, and you could see that the budget here is kind of low. Still, the story is what has captured me, so it wouldn’t matter that much, and the drawings are pleasing enough.

A fourth of the episode – I was quite happy to actually have the transition of atmosphere here – it made me feel like it’s some drama anime. It’s probably because of the relation of this scene with Kimi ni Todoke, but hey, either way, it doesn’t matter and I appreciate them doing this. The moment, however, was destroyed by dead bodies laid in the elevator when they were about to enter it.

Consumed by half of the episode, it was delivered well and done well, but it was left too quiet.

Despite knowing that this is scifi, I was still surprised that a robot appears out of nowhere, as though from another dimension. No, I wasn’t surprised of the robot, I was surprised because I kept thinking of more romance and drama. I want both of these, but hey, they’re all good.

On the other half, we get the real point of the story – the village and the gods. Aki, who kills anyone mercilessly, has appeared on Kyouhei’s apartment with Utao, his younger sister. It was interesting how they showed us the interests of the characters at such a short time, including the unusual atmosphere and ruling system in the village. As a result of the conflict in the apartment with the use of the gods’s destruction, Kyouhei had to move, temporarily together with Utao, to his friend’s house, Shiba. Aki, however, is still out somewhere in the city.

Looking at the anime generally, it’s outstanding. It compresses everything – the main character’s background, the “antagonist’s” background, and the story – without actually being reckless with it. Everything just goes well with the flow and keeps the atmosphere of the story steady, but at times feels like you’re going to have mood swings with the fast changes of the story.

Sadly, my mind keeps telling me something about FRACTALE. After watching FRACTALE with the highest expectations I could give, it really gave me one of the worst ending you could get by being illogical at the end of the series. With the robots here in Kamisama Dolls being alike to FRACTALE, I hope I’ll rub that mindset off, so I won’t have to repeat the nightmares of how illogical FRACTALE is – even worse than Romeo x Juliet, which I didn’t like only because of the ending (like FRACTALE being illogical esp. at the end).

Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 08 Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 09

ED: 「スイッチが入ったら」 (Switch ga Ittara) by Ishikawa Chiaki – It had the same feel as the OP. The credits was kind of “new” to me again as I don’t really see many anime doing the same like the movie end credits. The song, itself, is great, but for the first episode, it doesn’t seem to fit itself well. But I’m hoping it will be.

Kamisama Dolls Episode 1 - Image 10

Rating (Potential):
A first episode full of characters’s backgrounds and easily getting your attention and interest – it has a huge potential.

This entry was posted in Anime, Kamisama Dolls. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Kamisama Dolls – Quick First Impressions – 01

  1. Anamae says:

    Wow the art is beautiful – I’m going to give this a shot =)

Comment