FRACTALE – So Disappointed…

Opening Sequence – Download
Harinezumi by Azuma Hitomi
Subbed by UTW

Story (6) – Art (8) – Sound (7) – Character (6) – Enjoyment (8) – Overall (7)

This fools people. The potential it had, yet unused. Unused to stop the cliche-ness? Well, stories need it at some point; there’s a reason why it’s *popular* and why it’s called ‘cliche.’

FRACTALE seemed so different from looking at banners – simple, looks like movie quality, but what seemed to be ‘so promising’ and ‘so epic’ was so bad, just so disappointing! Of course, I already knew that producers would eventually put a façade on almost everything they do, but hey, you just got to admit it, the banner really did have the attractive simplicity and the characters had life in it. Hoo~ I really did fall for it.

FRACTALE - 1 FRACTALE - 2FRACTALE - 3 FRACTALE - 4

Story: 6/10

The first episode didn’t seem to give a really big impact. It gave me the feeling that I could just skip it off – mark it off from my mind. There wasn’t much ‘drama’ or so in the first meeting (or at least how I remember it to be; doesn’t seem memorable). It ended with not much of an introduction to these so-called doppels. This gave me second thoughts on whether I’m watching a sequel or not (like what I mistakenly did with CLANNAD). To guarantee so, I recheck it on various sites (e.g. ANN, MAL). So yeah, I guess I was wrong with my speculations, so I move on to the next episode, reaction: fine – a little bit awesome – could’ve been better.

But whoa, when I watched the third episode, everything made me take back what I said: THIS ANIME COULD JUST BE AMAZING! Yes, I really made such reaction that made me expect a lot from this anime – from action to drama! – that it could be something more! More than what Code Geass’s action and drama would be!

Watch, watch, watch. And yeah, I didn’t have much feelings watching the show. It just passed by. It made me feel like it is only for killing time. Yes, the drama was nice, the slice-of-life was fine, the action was good, but that’s that – nothing more, nothing less. There were a lot of things that I felt that was missing, but apparently, it isn’t just me. There are a lot from different anime bloggers.

What felt to be climatic didn’t feel much at all. I could feel a bit of its tense, but none of its atmosphere. I wasn’t absorbed in the anime. To put it bluntly, it is pretty much a mediocre anime. In fact, more than half of the the important events in the anime have… well, no significance, in the end. (Were there even really important events to take note of?).

Art: 8/10

I would say it was good but it makes me pull this show down because of the story it has made. I would say that art is between outstanding and great, but there are some times where the art could be, err, well… pretty hard to understand – something that could be misinterpreted.

Sound: 7/10

Some/Most people would say it’s great (probably), but the song isn’t really to my liking especially the ending sequence. I don’t really know what would actually make me dislike the ending sequence, but I guess that’s because it isn’t as fitting to the anime as it seems to other people. The opening sequence was fine, but I actually got tired of it and thought that it is bad (or has gotten bad). Just listen to it for yourself.

Character: 6/10

All I can say is that the character development is below average, but I couldn’t say it was that bad. It’s almost been the same thing, from the first episode to the last one.

Enjoyment: 8/10

When I get disappointed, I make this-is-fine things bad, but not as how I make it out to be. But seriously, to be honest, I really did enjoy watching this show. I couldn’t say I was wasting my time, but there were some things I learned.

Ending Sequence 1 – Download
Down by the Salley Garden by Azuma Hitomi
Subbed by UTW

Overall: 7/10

This time someone will explain it, the storytelling way, so, if you haven’t watched this show, be aware that EVERYTHING found beyond this, are BIG SPOILERS. (It’s an excerpt from a comment.)

[…] Phyrne […] regressed to a 10-year old mindset which is why her doppel […] is so childish. The Fractale System needed a reboot […]. […] The Temple needed to recreate the biometric password, Phyrne, […] to restart the system. The space garden is (a) […] bioscanner that required the perfect body and personality […]. Therefore, […] Phyrne merged with the […] mind of Nessa creates the copy of the original password.

[…] Why the **** would a Holographic VR network require a normal girl to “collect data”? Why would Phyrne need to be a virgin or was she even one?

[…] this series is illogical. […]

END OF SPOILER.

I have to admit, even cliché stories are better than this – WAY BETTER – than this. . . .

But still, it’s *kind of* worth the watch.

Ending Sequence 2 – Download
Salley Garden by Azuma Hitomi
Subbed by UTW

*Posted in MAL.

This entry was posted in Anime, FRACTALE. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to FRACTALE – So Disappointed…

  1. Pingback: Kamisama Dolls – Quick First Impressions – 01 | Dead Anime Blog

Comment