D.Gray-man 160 – Just One More Fun

Allen's Taller You Cutie Puny People

Looking back, the Head Nurse looks like he’s going to start a Thriller action here.

We already have a vampire, so they think we need a zombie attack, and here we are. ZOMBIES! Yeah, sure, we get zombies because it’s something D.Gray-man supposedly missed (other than werewolves), but the feel for D.Gray-man to do this isn’t so D.Gray-man at all. Well it is honestly pressuring to actually maintain the mysteriousness and the seriousness of the atmosphere, so I’m quite happy that they let off something like this go on. D.Gray-man has already done this in the first few chapters, but I guess it wouldn’t be so bad to insert one in the middle of the story. I mean, everything’s settled for now, plans are being made, changes are being… completely changed, so an arc like this won’t hurt. It wouldn’t feel dragging either way, for me, as well.

The plot so far hasn’t actually made its point yet, but at least we do get the point on blaming Komui Lee for everything that’s been going on here. Art-wise, the atmosphere is done well. The typicality of the story being that they are in a haunted house with thunder-and-lightning effects, I feel like it’s been too long that I’ve seen some drama in it that it would be great to see one more of this, just at least once, and D.Gray-man granted it when I needed it. Also, I like how they really made the atmosphere dark here. However, despite the dark atmosphere, I appreciate them for maintaining the gags. Well, the whole point of this story are the gags, so I guess it’s being well-delivered, but I can still sense a bit of a trying-hard feeling in this chapter.

Nevertheless, I’m going to stay vigilant on this one. It makes me feel like the satisfaction I’ll get on this chapter gives me the meaning to whether I am to love D.Gray-man as a whole or not.

This entry was posted in D.Gray-man, Manga. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment