D.Gray-man Volume 16 – The Aftermath

They're Cute - Never Gets Old

The aftermath of the long, awaited battle in the Black Order, and a few appearances of the Noah – more Noah. A volume review . . .

Chapters 150-157 –  Chapter 158Chapter 159Chapter 160

HIYAAAAAAA! And up until now, I still remember the annoyingness and the disgusting sound of a Level 4 Demon.

Stupid Demons, obsessed with Innocence.

You didn't know? Allen's going to die! Well, not really.

The Level 4 Demon was uncalled for. I did expect that something will happen to the Level 3 Demon, that was hungry, to become/do something, but I never really wanted to think that the Demon would actually become a Level 4. It did cross my mind, but I thought I should scratch the idea out as the Level 3 Demon is still strong enough to keep appearing in the later chapters in D.Gray-man. Still, it was great. It somehow caught me off-guard, as there are a lot of things in this series that I wanted to happen (like Allen popping up out of nowhere saving people) but never really happened.

The drama on the Black Order was great, too. It was really intense, and General Leverrier’s character really has pissed me off. With those squinty, evil eyes and stupid mustache, who wouldn’t hate him?

See? Level 4 Demons get more disgusting than they were before!

All thanks to the cool General Cross.

Now, there were a few things that I noticed that were quite different in the anime. I’ll be posting a manga to anime comparison, but it will take me a long time, so I’ll just post one of the differences I noticed on this part:

In the anime, Allen had made the final words about the Earl not destroying the Order in the past. It was kind of cheesy and unusual for Allen to say that, seeing as he is idiotic at times. Although having a sense of justice, he’s still idiotic, and I doubt he would ever say that as only justice-inclined idiotic people (in the fictional world) would only say that when they are in a drastic need for drama. In the manga, it was Marie who said that. Marie should be the one to say it, just for an additional character buildup. But I guess it isn’t so bad to become the final words of Allen on the D.Gray-man anime.

Also, the anime really did lessen (more like censored) the rampage of Level Four, particularly the killing of the personnel on the Black Order. The manga showed them their bodies cut into halves, while the anime just showed them almost just being disabled. The anime couldn’t emphasized their death very well at all, and so it was just terrible for Komui to refer the supposedly dead people as “losses” when they never really looked like they died.

I love the Fourteenth because he has this wicked wings on this image!

The Fated Meeting, huh?

On the other hand, there’s also the deal between the Secretary and Cross in relation to the Fourteenth and the musician. The curiosity flowing into me has grown greatly, almost like reading a show I’m not understanding anymore and just continue to ask. Nevertheless, D.Gray-man won’t let me down, and I have high hopes of it.

Meanwhile, I’ve always wondered why Mana is always assumed as a hidden character, i.e. his face is hidden. The revelation will take long (since D.Gray-man always takes its time), so we can only make assumptions right now. And here’s a funny one: The Millennium Earl is Mana! I laughed hard at that when one said it, but in fairness, it hasn’t become far-fetched lately, but it still contradicts to the Earl’s behavior towards this. So, scratch that one out.

Speaking of the Earl, it was great to actually see the Noah again, together. They really are like humans; well, they are, but they still don’t stop me from being surprised at how humane they could really be.

However, followed by something more I never really expected, was the Black Order’s change of location. Seeing as they have just been infiltrated by the Noah, it’s no surprise that this is the case.

But, damn, I just hope things go well. So far, it’s like I’m reading a series of unfortunate incidents on the protagonist’s side.

It's a bird! It's an angel! No, it's Innocence! And its physical form is cute but bothering.

I honestly daydream of the opposite.

Enjoy the fun for now. It won't last long, Allen.

This entry was posted in D.Gray-man, Manga. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to D.Gray-man Volume 16 – The Aftermath

  1. Pingback: D.Gray-man Volume 16 – The Aftermath | Dead Anime Blog | Manga Writer

Comment